In the beginning, my cup is half full but my pockets are not…

This is a blog for anyone who, like me, often finds themselves a little bit short at the end of the month…

Let’s get the small talk out of the way. Hi, my name’s Cat, I’m a TV Presenter. Right now though, you’re probably thinking ‘eek Cat Cubie-who? Perhaps therein lies the problem, I’ve done some stuff on TV, but to say it’s been a little quiet of late would be something of an understatement.

Of course, I consider myself really fortunate to have been able to give this presenting malarkey a go, and what’s more it probably sounds incredibly glamorous. It can be, I’ve definitely had pinch me moments a couple of times. However, I’ve also worked in pubs and restaurants to pay my way, lived off spaghetti hoops and cried at my bank statements.

The last thing I want is to sound whiney; I’m lucky to be following my dreams (yes, I just gagged a little too) but whilst I’m waiting for my next fabulous job, me (and my bank manager) thought I better try and make a few extra bob.

It’s not that I’m bad with money, I am Scottish after all; I grew up being thrifty. However, if I can be an economy bore for just a second, my understanding is that a recession occurs when employment, finance and (corporate) earnings decline. It may well describe the current climate but unfortunately it also describes me.

I know, deeply unsexy.

So, I’ve decided to do something about it. I’ve got some bits and pieces of work, but I also have a wee bit of time on my hands. I reckon with a smidgen of creativity I might be able to make a bit extra to keep the wolf from the door and I may as well chart my progress along the way. From eBaying it to pennies for my thoughts I’ll let you know how it goes.

Next week, easy as eBay…

Leave a Reply

